Datuk Rocky

Datuk Ahirudin "Rocky" Attan, PMW

Malay Mail Chief Editor, National Press Club President and National Alliance of Bloggers pro-tem President Ahirudin “Rocky’s Bru” Attan will be confered Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) which carry the title ‘Datuk’ by His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda Yang DiPertuan Agong tomorrow.

Bernama.com has the story:

February 01, 2010 00:16 AM

Tun Abdullah Heads Federal Territory Day Honours List

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 1 (Bernama) — Former prime minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi heads the list of 240 recipients of Federal Territory awards and medals in conjunction with Federal Territory Day 2010.

Abdullah is bestowed the Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) which carries the title “Datuk Seri Utama”.

Acting Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah is scheduled to present the awards at an investiture at Istana Negara.

Former Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad, who is also the Johor Baharu Member of Parliament, is also conferred the SUMW.

Kuala Lumpur Datuk Bandar Datuk Ahmad Fuad Ismail is among seven recipients of the Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) which carries the title “Datuk Seri”.

Other recipients of the SMW are Federal Court Judges Datuk Gopal Sri Ram and Datuk James Foong Cheng Yuen, Secretary-General of the Treasury Tan Sri Dr Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah, executive vice-chairman of the Yayasan Al-Bukhary Datuk Ismail Yusof, Media Advisor to the Prime Minister Datuk Jalaludin Bahaudin and chairman of the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC) Datuk Alies Anor Abdul (rpt Abdul) who was also a former political secretary to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak when he was the Defence Minister.

Three media organisation heads, namely the Director-General of Broadcasting, Datuk Ibrahim Yahaya, Malay Mail editor-in-chief Ahirudin Attan, who is better known as the blogger Rocky Bru and is also protem president of the Alliance of Bloggers (All-Blogs), and Harian Metro group editor Mustapa Omar are among the 27 recipients of the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) which carries the title “Datuk”.

Also conferred the PMW are the Chief Registrar of the Federal Court, Hasnah Mohammed Hashim, High Court Judge Lim Yee Lan, Dr Sharuddin Md Salleh who was a former political secretary to Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassian when he was the International Trade and Industry Minister, and the Deputy Secretary-General (Management) of the Higher Education Ministry, Omar Abd Rahman.

The Director of the Planning, Research and Corporate Division of the Public Service Department, Dr John Antony Xavier, Director of the Narcotics Investigation Department of the Royal Malaysia Police Datuk Zul Hasnan Najib Baharudin, Deputy Secretary-General I of the Ministry of Human Resources and Environment Aziyah (rpt Aziyah) Mohamed, Senior Director of the General Building Works Branch of the Public Works Department Datuk Dr Amer Hamzah Mohd Yunus, Deputy Director-General of Education, Ministry of Education Dr Haili Dolhan and Chief Syarie Judge of the Federal Territory Syariah Court Mohamad Abdullah.

Army 4th Division Commander, Wardieburn Camp, Maj Gen Datuk Zulkiple Kassim, Director of Corporate Services of Putrajaya Corporation Muhamad Haitamin (rpt Haitamin) Ishak, former Deputy Director of the Special Branch, Bukit Aman, SAC II (Rtd) Leong Chee Woh, Executive Director of Yayasan Wilayah Persekutuan Mohd Idris Mohd Isa, Bukit Bandaraya Bangsar Residents Association president Tunku Zahiah Tunku Sulong, Chairman of the Labuan branch of the Malaysian Malay Chamber of Commerce Yussof Mohammad, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) Advisory Board Member and Seputeh Umno division head Mustapa Kamal Mohd Yussof, DBKL Advisory Board Member and Batu Umno division head Yahaya Mat Ghani, Federal Territory MCA Liaison secretary Lai Kong Fah, Federal Territory MIC information chief K.P Peru Karupan, People’s Progressive Party (PPP) information chief A. Chandrakumanan who is also the Federal Territory PPP chairman, are also recipients of the PMW.

Professional chef Redzuawan Ismail or Chef Wan, former national cyclist and consultant Ng Joo Ngan and chairman of the Al-Ghufran Mosque in Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Hassanuddin Ali are also conferred the PMW.

Thirty-two people are awarded the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW) including the Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the Malaysian National News Agency (BERNAMA) Zulkefli Salleh and Managing Editor of the Media Prima Group Shaharudin Abd Latif, 30 are awarded the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW) including the Group Editor of Kumpulan Sistem Televisyen Malaysia Berhad (TV3) Mohd Ashraf Abdullah, 43 are awarded the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and 90 will receive the Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (PPW).



Rocky, 49 this year, will be confered along with another SOPO Blogger ‘Jejak Pujangga’ Ashraf Abdullah, who is also Editor-in-Chief for TV 3. Rocky was formerly Editor of Business Times and Editor of Malay Mail(when Malay Mail was still part of NSTP) and Ashraf was with NST before leaving for Golden Hope.

We at BigDogDotCom would like to express our heartiest congratulations for both examplry SOPO blogger-journo, who are inspirational for us bloggers to work harder in dissemination SOPO issues to the cybersphere. This recognition is landmark to the bloggosphere writers in Malaysia.

Published in: on February 1, 2010 at 01:21  Comments (4)