Its probably me!

If the night turned cold and the stars look down
And you’d hug yourself on the cold, cold ground
You wake the morning in a stranger’s coat
No one would you see
You’d ask yourself who’d watch me
My only friend who could it be

It’s hard to say I hate to say it
But it’s probably me

When your belly’s empty and the hunger’s so real
And you’re too proud to beg and too dumb to steal
You search the city for your only friend
And no one would you see
You’d ask yourself who’d watch for me
A solitary voice to speak out and set me free

I hate to say it I hate to say it
But it’s probably me

You’re not the easiest person I ever got to know
It’s hard for us both to let our feelings show
And some will say I should let you go your way
You only make me cry
But if there’s one guy just one guy
Who laid down his life for you and I

It’s hard to say I hate to say it
But it’s probably me

The world’s gone crazy and it makes no sense
There’s only one voice that comes to your defence
And the jury’s out and your eyes search the room
One friendly face is all you need to see
And if there’s on guy just one guy
Who laid down his life for you and I

It’s hard to say I hate to say it
But it’s probably me

 

WORDS AND MUSIC BY STING/ERIC CLAPTON/MICHAEL KAMEN

This is the theme song for “Lethal Weapon III” starring Mel Gibson and Danny Glover. I saw this, the first time in England, using my student union card, for the discounted ticket at the nearest cinemaplex (which is about three hundred yards or so from my school in the Sutherland Building).

Today is the exact 4 weeks I started this blog. As it was February, that makes it a whole month. I was feeling down when I started this. It was the Chinese New Year’s long weekend.

I guess the song depicts my emotions then. I know I am not easy to live with, but I guess, “Its probably me”. I learnt a lot in this long month. I lost some friends. I made some new ones. I lost my strength to ‘fight’. I regained my will to ‘fight’. I was misunderstood. I was misrepresented. I understood more about people. I understand me, more. I saw how real friends stood by. I saw how new friends open up new horizon. I felt the validations some of the old and new friends charged onto me. Faith in friendship restored. Most of all, I know how friends value me.

When I started this blog, I did say about the two important virtues in my life I treasured a lot; loyalty and friendship. I guess I learned a thing or two, new, about both. I also appreciate the surroundings that binds both, which affects me, direct or indirectly.

Now, that I am no longer at those deep abysses, I still feel that the lyric to this Sting’s song tells the story.

“The world’s gone crazy and it makes no sense
There’s only one voice that comes to your defence
And the jury’s out and your eyes search the room
One friendly face is all you need to see
And if there’s one guy, just one guy
Who laid down his life for you and I

It’s hard to say I hate to say it
But it’s probably me”

I am so glad I had friends to weather me through this storm!

Thank you, guys……………..

Published in: on March 17, 2007 at 02:53  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bigdogdotcom.wordpress.com/2007/03/17/its-probably-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Big Dog, I too found a new big friend in you. I will walk beside you, new friend.

  2. Hey BigGuy,

    How are you mate?

    I have been following your blog for weeks now, since your departure from KMU.

    Whatever the reason for departure might be, dont let it stop you from writing!!

    Cheers.

  3. Big guy, u still have us behind u..that is the most important thing u need to remember..

  4. Friendship is like a half filled glass. Its either half full or helf empty. Either way its the same half filled glass. Thats exactly how you look at a person – his strength or weakness.

  5. … its the same person.

  6. Dear BigGuy,

    I love the blog that you have. I was wondering if I could link your blog. If it’s ok just leave a comment in Clemfour and I will add your blog there.

    Adios 😉

  7. biggum, do what you feel best for you,keep it up.

    ventti, so u have time to surf eee…………..

  8. tunku,

    You see, now that I have more “slaves” working for me, I am able to kick back and relax.

    Last 6 months my schedule have been absolutely mental. Even my boss was worried that I might burn out at the rate that I am going.

    Besides, surfing malaysian blogs and websites is a form of therapy after months of being stuck in Aussie outback!!

    Cheers

  9. Winter spring summer or fall … a big guy with a big heart will always have friends around him; never despair, pierre (that’s from a french cartoon, maybe pink panther!)

  10. Once I ask one of my closest and oldest friend, if both of us in the trench warfare, would he trust me with his life. His answer “You are the sort of person who’d take the bullet for someone in your unit’s life”. Never the less, he is still there, willing to be in the same fox hole with me, for the last 21 years!

    That sort of loyalty, that, I really appreciate!


Leave a comment